Petrol Petrol everywhere

Technical stuff specific to the Raptor 650
rollingthunder
On the Road

Petrol Petrol everywhere

Post by rollingthunder »

Hmmpphh

Left my parking light on yesterday and killed the battery, charged it a bit managed to get the bike started and took it for a spin and all was great, went to get the bike out this morning and she wouldnt start, i assumed the battery was a bit dead so gave it a boost from a booster pack and she fire up but only ran on one cylinder and petrol was pissing out of the exhaust joints :shock: :shock: :shock:

Also the oil level in the sump is way up and it smells to be diluted with petrol, so my question is how terminal does this sound !!!!!

I'm no mechanic but even i know it's not good....

gutted! :(
rollingthunder
On the Road

Re: Petrol Petrol everywhere

Post by rollingthunder »

had a look at a few technical forums, hope this could me a stuck carb float or something.......
AZ
On the Road

Post by AZ »

That sounds like it to me,had the same thing happen on a z550 years ago.Cleaned everything from fuel tank to the carbs,flushed the engine and put in new oil and filter.I cranked it over with the cdi disconnected and the plugs out to get the oil all round the engine and it was as good as gold from then on.
NOTE; bikes do not have air brakes,lofting the front wheel will have an effect on a bikes braking efficiency.
dont arf get the adrenalin pumpin tho!!!
NZraptorgirl
On the Road

Post by NZraptorgirl »

Drain the sump. Clean the needles and the bowls, install inline filter to keep the crud out and you can even put a flow switch on the fuel line if you wish. Don't start until all the above done...and new oil and filter of course.

Cheers
dizzyblonde
On the Road

Post by dizzyblonde »

rollingthunder wrote:55 years agohad a look at a few technical forums, hope this could me a stuck carb float or something.......
Yup, stuck float. Needles, possible knackered fuel tap(this is a strong possibility)