vibrations in the stearing while breaking

Technical stuff specific to the Raptor 650
vdobunny
On the Road

vibrations in the stearing while breaking

Post by vdobunny »

Hello,

I'm new to the trade and own a 2001, 650 Raptor. My issue is with the breaks, more specific, I get some vibrations in the handlebar when breaking firmly. I have to mention that I have some play in the floaties ( I asked around and other riders said that I have nothing to worry about, normal play for a floating disk), there are no leaks from the fork seals, the tire is quite new (if it makes a difference :D). I have about 1 mm of "meat" left on the pads.
My big fear is that play in the disk, can someone please tel me the normal tolerance for that kind of play?

Much obliged!!

P.S. excuse the grammar, I'm romanian and it's been a while... ;)
Crap Tartan
On the Road
Location: Sitting in front of the screen in Portpatrick again

Re: vibrations in the stearing while breaking

Post by Crap Tartan »

Check wheel bearings and headstock bearings.

With only 1mm of meat you really need new pads! Check the disc thickness is in tolerance too.

Is the movement of the disc lateral or longtitudinal? It should be no more than just discernable in either plane.

Check the calipers are operating properly and that you dont have any stuck pistons giving uneven pressure when braking.

best of luck...............
nil illigitimae carborundum
snapdragon

Post by snapdragon »

^ as CT said above
-
also might be worth removing the discs and check the wheel where the disc meets it, make sure it's flat and has no muck or other stuff in between to push it out of true.

and welcome in by the way :)
SnappY
~~X~X~{:>
vdobunny
On the Road

Post by vdobunny »

Thank's for the advice guy's. I'm going to take another look an check for what U said.