Fitting a Scottoiler

Technical stuff specific to the Raptor 650
bladesuk1
On the Road

Fitting a Scottoiler

Post by bladesuk1 »

this weekend, i fitted a scottoiler to my raptor. lots of fun, particularly given that i don't have the faintest clue about most of the technical stuff at the moment (she's my first bike, and i'm still learning everything).

still, i figured what the hell - can't be too difficult, surely?

so, here's what i did:

1. open the box and find the vacuum damper assembly (part 4) - it's a little 'L' shaped piece of plastic.

2. get the vacuum tubing (the thin black tube - part 3) and insert into the end of the vacuum damper assembly (one end has foam in it, and you want the tube in the other end).

3. identify the throttle body. easiest way is to watch the engine through the frame, and twist the throttle. you'll see bits moving with a metal bar between them. those bits are the throttle bodies.

4. remove one of the rubber spigots from the throttle body (there are two on the rear one - it's easier to get access from the right side of the bike). i used the one at the rear of the bike as it was easier to get to. pull off the nearest one with some pliers.

5. push the other end of the vacuum damper assembly onto the spigot that you've just pulled the cap off. it should now look something like this:

http://www.gecko.org.uk/static/images/b ... lebody.jpg

(sorry it's a bit blurry - camera's autofocus kept getting confused)

6. pick somewhere to mount the reservoir. they recommend trapping it to the frame, but i thought that looked messy and i didn't like it, so i thought about hiding it under the seat behind the fairing, but couldn't get that to sit right either. in the end, i took off the seat and on the right hand side, found a nice little bolthole...

http://www.gecko.org.uk/static/images/b ... rmount.jpg

7. ...to which i attached the rmv bolt-on-clamp set (part 11). tighten up the bolt and it stays in place quite nicely.