speedo sensor

Technical stuff specific to the Raptor 650

Moderators: shebee, snapdragon, Moderators

ozzy
On the Road
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:37 pm
Location: peterborogh

speedo sensor

Post by ozzy » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:36 am

my speedo snsor is dead. it seems this part is no longer made, does anyone know where to get one or of a work around using something off another bike. the 650 take readings from rear disc, so 1000 rap no use and the suzy sv650 from front wheel so no use.
thanx in advance for any replies and help

User avatar
Dante
On the Road
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: Athens

Re: speedo sensor

Post by Dante » Mon Oct 30, 2017 9:45 am

I think that it matches from some aprilias,like tuono and rsv.

Aussiejoe
On the Road
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:20 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Re: speedo sensor

Post by Aussiejoe » Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:02 am

These are slightly different sizes but should do the job with a spacer so it doesn't stick too far in, and something around the bit that goes in the hole as it is slightly smaller diameter than the original. Only thing is the electronic side of things, might have to ask someone with electronics knowledge if it'll work. https://www.ifm.com/gb/en/product/MX5017

Aussiejoe
On the Road
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:20 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Re: speedo sensor

Post by Aussiejoe » Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:09 am


ozzy
On the Road
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2005 10:37 pm
Location: peterborogh

Re: speedo sensor

Post by ozzy » Sun Nov 12, 2017 8:26 pm

thankyou guys. emailed MV augusta. they dont do cagiva spares for non current models. however they were very helpful and sent me the email address for historic spares. if you contact them in english they are slow but do reply. if you speak italian faster response.
info@somaschinimoto.it
new sensors are available, 170 euros. with the the pound to euro exchange rate being poor at moment with postage its around £170. so going to try a used aprilla one or ducati as suggested first off ebay. will post results

User avatar
shebee
Site Admin
Posts: 2475
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 9:56 pm
Facebook address thingy: facebook.com/shebee.duff

Re: speedo sensor

Post by shebee » Mon Jan 22, 2018 1:29 pm

Any news on this Ozzy?
Twisted Tequila Sister

User avatar
vassilis67
On the Road
Posts: 259
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 7:00 pm
Location: Thessaloniki. Greece

Re: speedo sensor

Post by vassilis67 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:59 am

i have one of an Aprilia mille 2003...It's the same thing as far as electronics but it is a mirror of the cagiva one. You have to take care of the cable routing. i will post a pic if i'll remember how to do it.
It's all greek to me....

User avatar
vassilis67
On the Road
Posts: 259
Joined: Sun May 23, 2010 7:00 pm
Location: Thessaloniki. Greece

Re: speedo sensor

Post by vassilis67 » Sat Feb 03, 2018 7:02 am

Image
It's all greek to me....

User avatar
Dante
On the Road
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: Athens

Re: speedo sensor

Post by Dante » Fri Jan 17, 2020 5:16 pm

Hi,
Anyone can confirm what sensors matches with the stock?
At least the cylinder as the plug can be modified to match.

Aussiejoe
On the Road
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:20 pm
Location: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia

Re: speedo sensor

Post by Aussiejoe » Fri Feb 14, 2020 1:05 pm

Could try a Honeywell GT101 hall effect sensor. the measurements are pretty much the same dimensions, but the cylinder is longer, so would need some sort of spacer to keep it clear of the caliper bolt that it picks up off.
https://au.rs-online.com/web/p/magnetic ... s/2355706/
Here's a wikipedia link that explains how hall effect sensors work https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hall_effect_sensor

User avatar
Dante
On the Road
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: Athens

Re: speedo sensor

Post by Dante » Mon Feb 17, 2020 8:24 am

Well I got a new one from leonelli.
It was with a different plug as they didnt have the same one so I made an adaptor. Other than that,its the same.
But the bad thing is that I dont have speed readings even with the new one. So now I have to figure whats wrong...
The old one would stop working sometimes when it got wet but usually after a few minutes it was ok.
But one time it never recovered. So any suggestions on what I should check now?

nickst4
On the Road
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 12:48 pm
Location: Norfolk

Re: speedo sensor

Post by nickst4 » Mon Feb 17, 2020 7:58 pm

Only guessing here, but these things need power to work, unlike magnetic reed switches. Therefore you need to check the power supply and the earth. One or other of those is the likely culprit for the symptoms you describe. If so, it might also mean that your old one is perfectly OK!

Nick

User avatar
Dante
On the Road
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: Athens

Re: speedo sensor

Post by Dante » Fri Feb 21, 2020 6:23 pm

nickst4 wrote:
Mon Feb 17, 2020 7:58 pm
Only guessing here, but these things need power to work, unlike magnetic reed switches. Therefore you need to check the power supply and the earth. One or other of those is the likely culprit for the symptoms you describe. If so, it might also mean that your old one is perfectly OK!

Nick
Well,it turns out that you were correct.
I measured the plug that goes to the speed sensor and the voltage was 4,7V instead of 12V.
So it seems that it's not the sensor at fault but something else.
Now I have to figure out what.
I think that the sensor is connected to the dash,so maybe a capacitor there is faulty or something else.

nickst4
On the Road
Posts: 355
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2016 12:48 pm
Location: Norfolk

Re: speedo sensor

Post by nickst4 » Fri Feb 21, 2020 10:28 pm

I don't like the sound of that 4.7v. What age is the bike? I ask because some newer machines send out voltages around 5v to items you'd expect to need 12v to work. This is the case with my Ducati Hyperstrada 821, but that's a 2013 model. I wouldn't have thought even the latest 650ie Raptor would be like that but a lot of electronics use 5v, so your speedo sensor may simply be part of a circuit.

There must be someone who knows but, failing that, I could put a test meter on our 650ie speedo sensor and see what it says.

Nick

User avatar
Dante
On the Road
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:51 pm
Location: Athens

Re: speedo sensor

Post by Dante » Sat Feb 22, 2020 9:27 am

It s 2006 650 IE. It should be 12 volts as I found the sensors brochure and it mentions it.
Also I have the service manual and claims the same.
So it should definetely be 12 volts.

Post Reply